Roadbuilding excellence recognized

0 180 Government

by Bradley Fehr last update:Oct 3, 2014

The 10th annual Deputy Minister's Contractor of the Year Awards were recently handed out to recognize roadbuilding excellence in British Columbia.
Emil Anderson Construction won the Contractor of the Year Award for Grading for the Monte Creek to Pritchard Four Laning Phase 1 project.
Emil Anderson Construction won the Contractor of the Year Award for Grading for the Monte Creek to Pritchard Four Laning Phase 1 project. - Photo: Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure


“Congratulations to all the finalists for their outstanding work this year to improve and maintain B.C.’s roads, highways and bridges,” said Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure Mary Polak at the awards ceremony in Victoria.

Construction and road maintenance companies, that perform work for the ministry, were presented with awards for grading, paving, bridges and structures, and highway maintenance work.

Emil Anderson Construction Inc. of Kelowna won this year’s Contractor of the Year Award in Grading category for its work on the Monte Creek to Pritchard Four Laning Phase 1 project.

The project involved four-laning about 3.2 kilometres of Highway 1 from Monte Creek to just east of Bostock Road.

The project enhanced highway safety and capacity, as well as improved travel times along this corridor.

“This award is well deserved and highlights the excellent work Emil Anderson Construction did on the Monte Creek to Pritchard project,” said Polak.

“This is a busy road for local users and a major corridor for commercial traffic, so it’s important we keep it safe for B.C. families and more efficient for industry.”

The runners-up in the grading category were Kledo Construction Ltd. of Fort Nelson for upgrades on Sierra Yoyo Desan Road and Pedre Contractors Ltd. of Langley for the Evergreen Line BC Hydro Feeder Duct and Structures Construction project.

Pittman Asphalt Ltd. of Prince George won the Deputy Minister’s Contractor of the Year Award for Paving for work on Prince George area roads.

Their projects include Stuart River Bridge to Kwah Road on Highway 27, North Kelly Road to Salmon River Bridge on Highway 97, and the intersection of Highway 97 and 16, which is heavily used by local commuters and traffic bound for locations throughout the northern part of the province.

A number of side roads in the area were also resurfaced.

Pittman finished the projects on time and on budget.

“This award is well-deserved and highlights the excellent work Pittman Asphalt Ltd. did this year to improve roads in the Prince George area,” said Polak.

“These roads are busy with both local traffic and those travelling to more northern parts of the province, so it’s important we keep them safe and efficient for all users,”

The runners-up in the paving category were Okanagan Aggregates Ltd. of Armstrong for the Highway 43 Overlay-Sparwood to Line Creek Road Project, and ARC Asphalt Recycling Inc. of Kamloops for Hot-In-Place Recycling on Highway 5 from Valemount to Tete Jaune and from Avola to Whitewater Bridge.

Seismic 2000 Construction Ltd. of Aldergrove won this year’s Deputy Minister’s Contractor of the Year Award in the Bridges and Structures category for its work on the Highway 3 Old Kootenay River Channel Bridge.

The project involved rehabilitating the existing 300-metre-long bridge, which was built in 1958.

The company provided traffic management to keep Highway 3 open and dealt with a number of challenges as a result of summer electrical storms and power failures.

It also worked to mitigate any potential environmental disruptions and impacts, as the bridge lies within the Creston Valley Wildlife Management Area.

“This award is well-deserved and highlights the excellent work Seismic 2000 Construction did on the Old Kootenay River Channel Bridge – an important part of the Highway 3 corridor connecting B.C. and the rest of Canada,” said Polak.

The runners-up were West Bridge Corporation of North Vancouver for Highway 99 Long Cayoosh Bridge, and Westpro Infrastructure Ltd. of Surrey for the South Fraser Perimeter Road Highway 17 Deltaport Interchange project.

Mainroad Lower Mainland Contracting LP won the Contractor of the Year Award in Road and Bridge Maintenance for work in the Lower Mainland service area.

The runners-up were Yellowhead Road and Bridge (North Peace) Ltd. for work in the North Peace service area and Argo Road Maintenance (South Okanagan) Inc. for work in the South Okanagan service area.

This year a new category for Excellence in Safety Innovation was given out.

LaFarge Canada Inc. won the inaugural award for its Haul Tailgate Block.

The Tailgate Block is a new safety device that keeps the tailgate in place if the hydraulic line in the tailgate fails.

The Tailgate Block is slipped onto the lift cylinder of the tailgate prior to inspectors working in the back of the truck, preventing the tailgate from falling.

“Congratulations to Lafarge Canada for its sterling work in safety innovation,” said Vancouver-Langara MLA Dr. Moira Stilwell at the event.

“This new device will improve on-the-job protection for those who work hard to make roads safer for everyone. This should serve as inspiration to the industry – one that hopefully leads other contractors to follow suit.”

The event was held in conjunction with the B.C. Road Builders and Heavy Construction Association’s annual general meeting and holiday celebration in Victoria.

However, the winners were not necessarily association members.

last update:Oct 3, 2014

Leave a comment

Or register to be able to comment.

Copyright ConstructConnect TM. All rights reserved. "ConstructConnect" is a dba for CMD Holdings.
The following rules apply to the use of this site:
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement